Uh oh! If the title matches you then you may have an issue. I have heard this scenario many times so let me give you some information. The Texas Family Code requires that you live in the County where you are filing for at least 90 days AND that you live in Texas for at least 6 months. Ok, so now you are saying, “Wait, you mean I have to wait 6 months before I can file for divorce?” The answer is maybe, maybe not. Sometimes there are ways to get around this, but even doing that you will not have a divorce quickly. Sometimes, in certain situations, there are options that can put the divorce on hold until you meet the residency requirements. If you are able to put this case on hold that means that the divorce can happen in Texas, but you have to wait 6 months before you can proceed any further.You may be asking yourself, why would I file here then if I have to wait 6 months? Well, it really depends. Is Texas law more favorable for you than the state you came from? Will it be inconvenient for you to go to the other state to file for divorce?These are some of the questions you need to address before determining whether to file here in Texas or file in the state you moved here from.